Skip to content

Did I Tell Him

July 7, 2012

Ireland Dreams

Did I Tell Him?

July 7, 2012

The time had arrived when I phoned my mother -in- law and told her I could not hold it any longer! It was time to confess. I had not made reservations but had most of the facts or so it seemed. That evening as I prepared dinner, I told him that a secret was tearing me apart and gave him the choice to know about it or stay in the dark. I explained that if he knew about it, the best surprise of his lifetime would be spoiled. Ireland or Australia had been a location Doug had wanted to visit for some time. He choose to hear about it all.

The rumble of not so distant noises came from my mind and pit of the stomach wondering how I would hold my ground but all at once the growling seemed to echo within my inner turmoil. What could I do about him, should he resist? That was easy, or so I thought! I was informed and had been saving money-enough to pay for half of the flight and the rest would be easy stretched out over the year. (These had been the reasoning’s in my mind that sounded like a good debate should I need one!)

Imagine my joy when he just shook his head and ask me if I was crazy! But with only a brief time of discussion he thought it would not be a bad idea to see Australia! AUSTRALIA!! I had decided he spoke of Ireland more, so I did not research Australia except that they had Kola Bears, Kangaroos and plenty of beaches to entertain you. Oh my, I did not want to look any further! EEKS, now what? A bit of discussion and we were on our way together-to IRELAND!

The time marched on relentlessly as we were in the throes of planning the most adventurous trip of our lives together.

Each time a new fact crossed our desk or computer a lump would rise in my throat as I averted my mind for just that split moment to rejoice over having found the ” perfect deal”!!

Thank you for joining our journey as we prepare for the vacation of our lifetime! Together we hope you enjoy the excerpts from my Introduction. I don’t want to spoil it for you so should you want more from this section, my book can be ordered from my web site at: www.ExtraordinaryIreland.com

Please follow us as we journey the next three weeks through the Republic of Ireland discovering new places, meeting the great Irish people and negotiating deals exclusive to our readers. You will find some of those offers on my web site, so be sure to visit and look around where you can even connect to my YouTube video.

Happy Journeying!

Rosemary “Mamie” Adkins

Extraordinary Dreams of an Ireland Traveler

www.ExtraordinaryIreland.com

RosemaryAdkins@ExtraordinaryIreland.com

From → Uncategorized

16 Comments
  1. No one can resist having a secret revealed. So funny about the Ireland/Australia miscommunication but from the words and the pics I have seen, I think Ireland was the ideal choice.

    • Thank you so much Linnea. I was shocked when he said Australia! We loved Ireland and hope to return in 2013.
      Many Blessings,
      Rosemary

    • It has been a great choice. We loved it there and can’t wait to return. And it did change our lives forever. The love we found there and the memories we shared will be forever a gift from God. A true treasure. We also found a new business we love. Check it out at http://www.aineknitwear.com
      We are an exclusive Importer/Distributor for her in the USA!!
      Thank you for visiting.
      Rosemary

    • Linnea, I thought I had replied-sorry. Yes, it was so hard to keep this secret for sooo long! It was a relief to tell and share the most exciting trip of all.
      Thanks for visiting,
      Rosemary

  2. Ireland was meant to be for you Rosemary! It changed your life forever.

    • Linda, you have no idea how great these memories have been while wishing we could return. Don’t forget to keep those bags packed!

  3. You know what the best thing about this story is? AUSTRALIA is still on the Map! (from a cheeky girl)

    • Thank you for your comment. I can hardly wait to visit Australia!
      It is on my list of high priorities to be.

      Many Thanks!
      Rosemary “Mamie”Adkins

  4. Mamie, you have been ‘TAGGED’ by catnipoflife. Go to her website (http://catnipoflife.wordpress.com/) for insight into why you have been tagged and what happens next! Have FUN! Hope you enjoy. . .

    • HI Sharla,
      I must admit, I do not know what being tagged means or what’s next! I followed your link but was not sure where to look. I do so enjoy reading and following your blogs.
      Thanks for whatever it means and for visiting my blog posts too!
      Rosemary

      • Read the posting “Tag – You’re it!” Here is the direct link: http://catnipoflife.wordpress.com/2012/07/10/tag-youre-it/ It is a question/answer trivia activity for us bloggers to get to know each other better.

      • Sorry it is taking so long but Sandy has been top priority this entire last week. I should have this done by the end of this week.
        Thank you for understanding,
        Rosemary

      • Rosemary, do let me know how Sandy is progressing so I can update catnip’s prayer!

      • You actually post the rules, your answers, your new set of questions, and persons you wish to tag on your website. Then, notify your recipients to visit your website so they know what is happening and how to pass it along.

      • Thank you. Working on the questions to pass on, whom to tag and then will post this weekend.

Leave a Reply

