Skip to content

Dingle Ireland and our Best Friend

July 13, 2012

Sandy Adkins

Waiting for Us to

Come Home!

You may wonder how Sandy is part of this blog about Ireland but let me explain why. Sandy, our wonderful and sweet lab is part of our family that loves us unconditionally. She sacrificed her comfort of being without us for four weeks while we vacationed without her.

 

Hurt she did not go, she loved us dearly when we returned home. 

 

First glimpse of Dingle on the Dingle Peninsula!

Sandy would have loved the beach at

Dingle where she could have romped on

the sandy beaches yet miles away she was at home waiting for us.

We named her Sandy because her first walk as a puppy was on a beach where she played in the sand!

 

 

 

Dingle where the dolphin, Fungi adopted the town and greeted every boat that comes in or out preferring to be with people than her own kind.

 

Dingle, stretching thirty miles into the Atlantic Ocean along the Southwest Coastline of Ireland and where you can see many fishing vessels along the harbour.

 

Meet Fungi, a statue erected in town along the waterfront so visitors learn about this dolphin that has lived here since 1984. Sandy would love to play with this dolphin from the shore of course safely keeping dry and warm where she likes it! 

 

 

Captains House

 

 

 

And if she had wanted to rest, she would have love the B & B at the Captains House where she could have played with the resident dog! This residence was a true find with its quaint surroundings and the food layout left for us certainly would please anyone and their canine family.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sandy would have even loved the entertainment in Dingle where live Irish music and traditional dance can be found-the best of which was along the waterfront where you can even find an Internet Cafe.

 

 

 

 

Yes, Sandy is part of our story so now while she is so ill, we wish to pay tribute to our sweet baby. She is now improving and time does still exist for more memories, but I wanted to pay tribute to our baby while she is still with us.

 

The following is a bit different from regular post but I hope you enjoy it and feel our love for such a special family member-Sandy.

 

Bonus Story

 

“SWEET SANDY”

written on

July 4, 2012

 

“Now I lay me down to sleep

 

I pray the Lord my soul to keep.

 

If I should die before I wake,

 

I  pray to God my soul to take.”

       

These are the very prayers I said as a child and found myself

 

praying these words tonight for our sweet Sandy.

 

Even in her hour of pain, she reached over to me as tears began to

 

soak the pillow where I laid my head and softly licked the tears

 

from my face while gently placing her paw on my hand.

 

“Oh Lord if this is to be the night for the angels to come for our

 

sweet Sandy, please have Your forgiving mercy on her and allow her

 

to pass with no more pain,” we prayed.

 

Our sweet loyal friend is sick tonight, the worse we have

 

witnessed. As I sat in my recliner and watched her laying on her

 

bed in front of us, she began to whine, look at each of us as though

 

to say “Come close so you are near when I go” and gently formed

 

her lips, sounding off with a tiny whoof!

 

Then she would whine ever so quietly. Our baby of ten years, a

 

sweet chocolate lab was in horrible pain and we were helpless to do

 

much about it, except tell her she is loved so much by us all and her

 

heavenly Father.

 

We had spent six hours at the Vet earlier that day and they said

 

that her problems were fixable and that it was not yet her time yet

 

she was racked in such pain.

 

Doug slid to the floor and sat next to her but she kept watching

 

me with her brown browns and continued to whimper. I had not been

 

able to get on the floor for years for health reasons but felt

 

compelled to be near so I slide down my chair onto the floor where

 

we as a family laid together for hours.

 

Sandy needed us as if she were telling us that a special bond was

 

about to be shared.

 

I laid on the floor next to Sandy with my head in my husband’s

 

lap as I stroke Sandy’s chest and spoke to her while Doug gently

 

held her head. We kept telling her how much we loved her and it

 

was ok and we were here for her and we would never leave her.

 

We laid beside her for hours when she suddenly seemed peaceful. I

 

hurriedly watched her so closely to be sure that her heart was still

 

pumping when she looked up at me as though to reassure me.

 

The time came to move to our bedroom where she has yet another

 

soft bed where she wanted to sleep at night. Restless, she in time

 

fell back to sleep but we were afraid and now was a fresh moment

 

we could pray to God to either make her well or let her go.

 

Many tears were shed this night as Doug and I held each other as

 

we watched our sweet Sandy. “Please dear Lord, spare her any

 

more pain, allow us to absorb the pain and set her free to play and

 

walk again.”

 

It seems God was with us as we did not wake the next morning in

 

pain yet Sandy was able to walk ever so slowly but walked. Praise

 

God for his mercy.

 

Oh Lord, please grant Sandy, to be whole, young and healthy once

 

more! How she loved to play and fill the room with her toys

 

including our remote controls!

To order your special signed paperback copy of my book – go to:

www.ExtraordinaryIreland.com

To order E-Book go to Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Extraordinary-Dreams-Ireland-Traveler-ebook/dp/B0080JHKY2/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1336367828&sr=1-1

To see a youtube trailer go to: http://youtu.be/brQlay8bPoo

Follow us on Facebook at:
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Rosemary-Mamie-Adkins/315464778471984

Thank you for following,

Rosemary “Mamie” Adkins

 

 

From → Uncategorized

13 Comments
  1. Mamie, what a beautiful post and so sad about Sandy! Our pets are our children so our hearts bleed for them when they are in pain. I am posting A Pet’s Prayer to catnip. Probably will not be ready until tomorrow. Be sure to stop by. . .

  2. Rosemary,
    What a sweet story about Sandy.
    Aren’t our dogs good to us? I hate to know that she is so sick.
    Your prayer was the first one that our Mom taught us when we were young too.
    I wish you the best!
    Cherrye

    • Hi Cherrye,
      Thank you for visiting. This prayer came back to my mind in a flash during this time of worry and special communication with our sweet Sandy. I think it must be one known in the South. I have had many people remember the same and all from the Southern States.
      Sandy is our baby and we thank you for your prayers too. I hope you enjoyed the trip through Dingle Ireland as well.
      Rosemary

    • Cherrye, I think about you and your hard work and thank you for taking the time to visit here. Please come back. Our Sandy is the sweetest pet we know but we have had many wonderful friends and miss them all.
      Rosemary

  3. Hello Rosemary – I’m attempting to reply again because it appears that my first comment did not record. I have changed my log in detail so hope that helps.
    I love so much that Sandy is your baby and so she should be. Our pets play such beautiful roles in our lives. I recall taking my aunt’s dog to a medical lodge to see her one more time before she passed with cancer and the mere presence of that beautiful collie sporting a red bow around her neck, drew so much love and attention from numerous other patients, that we were asked to bring her back, because a dog’s presence can have a healing influence on the critically ill. I have had many dogs in my life and cannot think of one who didn’t hold a special place in our hearts. My daughter’s dog, Baxter, is the most beautiful, emotional and loving dog I have every known. He is a cross breed of border collie and Siberian Huskie – oh so beautiful – black fur and crystal blue eyes. From the time he came into our lives as a puppy, he seemed to assume the role of Tammy’s protector and even emulated her personality as I have heard that they do. If I told him that Tammy was sleeping, he would actually tiptoe so as not to awaken her – such intelligence. Once Tammy passed away, I became even closer to him and we were inseparable until I moved into an apartment and could not bring him along. He is with my son-in-law now and due to his age, is practically deaf and blind but he remembers me and I love that.
    Sandy is so fortunate to have you and hers is a life well lived. Just like children, so many pets are not so blessed to have loving parents so every day that she is with you will be recorded as a good day in her book of life!
    Thanks for sharing more of Sandy’s story with us and for honoring her with this lovely tribute.
    Linda

    • Thank you Linda for taking the time to post this comment.
      I love the story about your daughters dog Baxter. I am sure he remembers you-I believe they, as we remember those that love us.
      I did not know you had lost a daughter and can only imagine the pain you must have in your heart but know she is an angel that watches over you and Baxter.
      Someday, we will all be together united in love and peace with no pain or suffering.
      Your words touched my heart and for that I do love your sweet and giving nature.
      Sandy also thanks you for her prayers. 🙂
      Have a great day and life knowing many care about you as well.
      What a great comment-thank you.

      Rosemary

  4. Rosemary–a wonderful post–how wonderful to have been able to make that trip–and take others through your eyes. I love your poem–a beautiful tribute to a beautiful pet.Your book is so colorful that I expect it to practically sell itself. Colorful in many ways, the places, the people, the way you write as if you were taking us along. I don’t usually care for travel books but I am in love with yours!!

    Much love, Micki

    • Micki,
      What a terrific compliment. Funny about your comment “and take others through your eyes” as my first title for this book was “Looking Through Our Eyes in Ireland!” I have never written a poem because I thought it had to rhythm and that would never happen for me! So I am happy you like it. Linnea and Deirdre as well as you (though you did not know what the qustions were about) all helped me think it out regarding the layout. Thanks so much.
      I would love to make this a coffee table book some day with larger photos. Just need to find a printer that can do the job without me having to buy his home! LOL. I wrote my book consciously trying to be like friends with my readers sharing my journey, so when reading the history it would be fun to learn. Thank you for sharing you had that feeling.

      Many Hugs Back!
      Mamie

  5. Raani York permalink

    What a wonderful blog post, Rosemary. I loved it!! Thinking about you!!

Leave a Reply

