Skip to content

Extraordinary Dreams of an Ireland Traveler Finds That More Dreams Can Come True!

November 11, 2012

Extraordinary Dreams of an Ireland Traveler

Finds That More Dreams Can Come True!

Mamie

Doug and Sandy

Kecia & Dexter

 

The photo of this young girl is of Mamie. At this time in her life she knew that she was to stand alone and was unwanted. Within a few years she made up her mind she would someday have friends that would fill her life and have a common interest. As time passed it became clear that she wanted to fill her life with those that cared about each other and it finally came to pass-her Extraordinary Dream-a family and friends she could love and cherish, helping each other, grieving for one another, and finally being part of laughter that intertwines with so many.

 

Sadness has filled the very surroundings with events of storms and violence to many around her and now the time seems right to share these friends and her family and share her concerns for those that have been hurt through violence and or Mother Nature.

 

FRIENDS

Micki Peluso

Sandy Wright &
Carrie Becker

Sharing today, begins with telling you my name is
Mamie and this is my story.  am going off
topic to share with you what Family and Friendships mean to me. Our recent
disasters in weather and even violence have made me stop and reflect on the
many blessings in life. It would be so easy to dwell on what terror, misgivings and the unjust we have in this world but today let’s be thankful for our family, extended families and  friends.  Sandy and her daughter have shared in my beginnings writing my first book and

Rusty (Allen Kane) was one of only a few that read my book when in its roughest stages, encouraging me always-what better friend can one be! Micki and Linda has shared their story of loss and we have grown close
just to now watch Micki along with so many suffer the ravages of this Rusty Kane        violent storm while being unable to help.        Linda Hales

Many friends across the country suffered at the hands of this Super storm Sandy that saddened the country as we sat helplessly by watching a path of destruction and praying our loved ones were safe. Yet feeling a sense of grief for those we do not know but harmed just the same. These two friends were in the path of this storm but managed not to be  personally harmed but felt the rage from its destruction of their nearby neighbors. I count my blessings these friends are safe.  

One of my extended family members is Robert Punt whom is a Physiotherapist. A giving compassionate medical professional that cares about everyone and their well being. On September 13th, 2012 at approximately 7 PM, from his clinic he observed what appeared to be someone that may need help. So he walked outside his clinic towards this half dressed man laying on the ground upon twigs and found him to appear as unresponsive. Robert turned to go get help when this man suddenly in a drunken stupor and apparently high on drugs, attached him striking Robert in the head with a rock and repeatedly telling Robert he was going to kill him. My blessing-His injury was bad but he was alive and well after recovering. Sad because our justice system has taken so long to even arrest this man. Now, this is an abbreviated version of this story and there is much more to share but this is another story!

 

I am not sure what the fire, floods, earthquakes, tsunami’s, violence, rage and disease have come to mean or if it is a sign of what is to come for our futures, but we must find that special way to find thanks for all we do have by remembering our friends and family..

Just for fun, I decided to look up in the Webster Dictionary the meaning of family and friends.

 

Ginny Cash, Author Poulsbo-special friend

 

You would be amused at some of those definitions but for friends it states it is a “clan, buddy, chum which made me think of fish, compadre, comrade, confidant, crony, mate [chiefly British], musketeer, pal; one attached to another by affection or esteem or acquaintance.”

 

I have to admit these definitions seem to be fairly accurate with how I feel about my friends so it does explain how sadness overcomes those when their friends are in harm’s way. Just the same I had to laugh at the term “crony!” I somehow would not think of this term as tears flowed from my eyes watching the news when so many of my friends were caught, trapped with nowhere to escape as Sandy pounced their very lives leaving many stranded, lost, with no power or water as they watched their friends and family fight huge losses or life. Truly a helpless feeling-only prayers were available for most of us in an effort to hold tight to those we have grown to love.

 

Seems this was also a time to reflect on friends that have lost their loved ones and those we had lost ourselves. A friend whose husband of almost 50 years now alone but cradled by her family and friends. Another, again I am helpless to comfort but so grateful to call a friend.

 

These people here are also my friends and I wish to give thanks to all those here and more. The photo above reflects my many author friends and I certainly encourage you to Google their names and see what wonderful amazing people and Authors they all are. Special thanks to Clayton Bye for making this collage for me to use.

 

The names are listed from above are from left to right.

Top Row: Ron L. Cherry, CA.; Peggy Strack, NewYork; Linda Hales, Ontario; Rosemary “Mamie” Adkins, WA.; T.R. Heinan, AZ.; Martha Char Love, Hawaii; Jon Magee, Scotland; Stuart Carruthers, Taiwan;

Row 2:

Clayton Bye, Ontario;  Ron L. Cherry; Delinda McCann, WA.; Bryan Murphy, Italy and England; Louise Malbon-Reddix, Maryland; Sandra Nichlinger; Micki Peluso, New York; Kenneth Weene, AZ; Sharla Shults, Georgia; Dicy McCullough, North Carolina;

Row 3:

Randi Fine; Cynthia Ainsworthe, Florida; Clint Evans, Texas;

Tony Bertot, Arizona; Tyler Tichelaar, Pennsylvania; Raani York, CA.; Linneann Larsen, CA; Laura Vosika, Minn; Marta Merajver, Buenos Aires

Row 4:

Dan O’Brien, CA; Sandra McLeod Humphrey, MN.; Patricia Garia, Germany; Timothy N Stelly Sr, CA; D. M. Pirrone, ILL.; Rev. Yves Johnson, AZ;  Monica Brinkman; Mary Firmin, CA; Cherrye Vasquez, Texas

 

Family:  Anyone that is blood related or anyone you love! That is my own definition. Webster’s was too complicated!

Photo: Sister-in-law, Diane helped with my book proofreading and hand drew my map, Doug, myself, daughter-Kecia and son-in-law, Jonathan & husband Douglas.

 

This is my immediate family but there are more whose photos were not available. They are my riches and blessings so great no words will explain.

I love you all-Family and Friends. Do remember to stop and give thanks for yours.

 

Thank you for once again visiting my blog and I look forward to your return.

 

Rosemary “Mamie” Adkins

Extraordinary Dreams

of an

Ireland Traveler

 

http://www.ExtraordinaryIreland.com

From → Uncategorized

12 Comments
  1. Jon Magee permalink

    Thank you, my friend, for sharing this with us. The ocean may seperate each one of us, but friendship is always the bridge that draws us together.

  2. Hi Jon,
    Thank you for being the first to stop by and liking my blog. The sea is all that separates us and I for one plan to cross that sea soon. I sincerely hope with listing all the authors here I can in some small way help us all.
    Many Blessings Jon.

  3. Such beautiful stories and friendships, those that we have we need to hold near and dear for they are precious and few. Thank you so much for sharing these poignant stories. God bless Have a beautiful Sunday!

    • Greetings and I am so happy to see you again. I hope all is well with you and your enjoying the Fall colors everywhere.
      Thank you for your comments. It felt right togo off subject and talk about my many blessings we all too often forget.

  4. linniescorner permalink

    Dear Rosemary – you’ve surely given new meaning to the concept of blogging and gone far and beyond the norm in defining friendship. I can just picture you, sitting in your recliner chair by the window, with your eyes closed as they were healing. The idea just popped into your mind by surprise and then, you started the ball rolling. I know that it took a couple of weeks to put together and you have had me eagerly waiting to see how it turned out. Thank you Clayton for putting this wonderful collage together and if we may all have permission, would love to use it on our new dedicated Pinterest board when it is up. It may even be the cover photo, who knows. Thanks Rosemary, this is surely one to remember.

    • Hi Linda,
      What a great idea for a Pinterest board. As a cover, we can then list all the books separately with the covers, etc. You are always thinking and you are 100% correct on how this post came to be. Guess my thoughts and secret plans do not escape the mystery solver that you are! Hopefully my eyes will be ready to work full speed.
      Thank you for the visit!

  5. Raani York permalink

    Hi,

    You got the Reality Blog Award from me. Check out my page:

    http://raaniyork.wordpress.com/2012/11/11/reality-blog-award/

    Just copy the pic, answer the question and nominate as many as you want. I figure the “rules” had been lost somewhere on the road. LOL

    Have fun! And Congratulations – you really deserve it!!

    Hug
    Raani

  6. Absolutely wonderful, Rosemary–everything you do is memorable!

    • Hi Sandra,
      Thank you for a special tribute. You are one of my many reasons to reflect joy in this special piece for my family and friends. Clayton did a great job on this collage.
      Thank you for stopping in.

  7. Raani York permalink

    This is so beautiful!!!

Leave a Reply

